Paper, Laptop, and Books Oh My! Changing Mediums to Defeat Writer’s Block

Everyone has a preferred method of writing, whether it is typing straight onto a word document, using the good old fashioned pen and paper, or maybe your typewriter is your ideal medium. Yet, something I don’t see spoken about is that sometimes your medium of writing can cause writer’s block, or at least it does for me. I open my word document and just can’t write, regardless of whether its a new idea or one that I’ve been working on for a while, the words and ideas stored in my head just refuse to come out. It can be disheartening, irritating even, when I know that I want or need to write.

So today’s post is a little trick that I’ve picked up for myself after years of trying to stick to one medium of writing and at times struggling because of it. This may not work for everyone but there’s no harm in trying! It’s simply changing the medium of writing, temporarily, to have a fresh perspective that helps kick start my writing mood. However, over time I have realised that there are different times and ways that I use this method for different effects.

  1. Intense writer’s block
    The times when I suffer from intense writer’s block, when I just can’t write despite an incredible idea, I often try to use a completely different medium of writing. As I previously said, I tend to use my laptop (spell check and the easy ability to edit are a lifesaver for me), so during these times I grab some loose paper or one of my notebooks, change my scenery, even if its simply moving into another room of the house, and try again. For whatever reason, I find that I’m suddenly able to write again!
    Then, once I feel like I have made a good start, I simply transfer what I’ve written onto my word document and, almost magically, whatever was preventing me from writing before has disappeared. It is a simple concept, but can be so useful!
  2. Inserting New Ideas and Editing
    After a certain point during a draft, my mind can straight up refuse to input anything new or alter what I’ve already done, which is infuriating. This is especially true when it is in the middle of the text, in between established points. I struggled with this whilst working on my university essays as well until I stumbled upon a writing suggestion on Instagram (I unfortunately don’t remember the original post so can’t link/accredit them). It said that when editing open a new document and begin again, not from scratch, but typing out your original version but with the changes and new ideas. It seemed like a lot of effort but I decided to give it a go and it worked wonders! Since then, I have used it for every single essay and it has greatly helped.

    During longer pieces of work, I’ll even start over on a new document part way through to ensure that my ideas are all coherent see if there’s anything I have missed. It has been incredibly useful and I do recommend having a try, although I know it may not be for everybody.
  3. Encouraging Creativity
    The final time that I change medium is when my creativity needs a kick start. Often when planning a story or brainstorming I don’t use my laptop but a blank piece of paper and pen. It’s easier for me to make quick notes and produce a spider diagram of ideas than it is on a word document. Each writing medium has its own unique pros and cons, and switching between them may help you tap into your creativity through those benefits. Laptops and word documents are fantastic for quick editing, notebooks and pens are easily transportable (and not expensive or fragile) so can be taken to beautiful locations to inspire ideas, and typewriters have a lovely sound to create your own ambience.

    Yet this is not just limited to writing, sometimes trying other things like drawing, making setting playlists, or recreating a character in a videogame (I can’t be the only one with a Sim house made of my own characters) can help you picture your location and characters. Even things like baking, going on walks, sewing can help with your worldbuilding by experiencing a part of their lives. All of this can help your creativity as your drawn upon your own experiences to fuel your imagination. Plus it provides a nice break away from the grind that may be what you needed most. Taking breaks and looking after yourself, mentally and physically, will ultimately help your writing so please make sure to do so.

If you try any of these methods, or have your own techniques to tackle writer’s block, let us know in the comments, we’d love to know what you think!

Hint of the Week:
I guess everyday really does mean every day!

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started